Unchartered Waters

I decided to sail in unchartered waters; a place so vast and unknown, without any reassurance of where the waves would take me, I still decided to go. It took me a long time to think if I should leave the shores and go farther or to stay within my safe spaces and confine myself in it. It was a difficult choice, but still, I decided to go. Leaving the place that became home for me for so many years can be heartbreaking and liberating at the same time; heartbreaking because it was once my haven, my escape. Though there were times that I would wish back then that it would be on fire, I can’t deny the fact that it sheltered me for a long time. The fact that I’m leaving marks my liberation from those four cornered walls. Indeed, my life doesn’t end with those walls around me.

As of the moment, I am familiarizing myself with the waves and currents that I get to encounter every single time; every weak wave or a strong one, could mean something, that’s why learning never stops. I may be the captain of my boat, but if the wind brings me to a place or situation that I have no control, who am I to fight it? Here I am sailing in unchartered waters. Here I am being free.

Leave a Reply

